- Who Issues the Credential and Which CXA This Is
- The One Hard Requirement: CUA Status
- What Is Not Required
- Exam Format You Must Be Ready For
- Fees: What the Published Sources Say
- Domain Readiness: What You Need to Know Going In
- Delivery, Technology and Timing Rules
- A Qualification Plan Mapped to the Domains
- After You Qualify: Results, Retakes and Validity
- Frequently Asked Questions
- HFI requires Certified Usability Analyst (CUA) status before you can sit the CXA exam.
- HFI's CXA courses are optional; the exam itself is the credential gate.
- The online exam has 100 multiple-choice questions and a 70% overall passing requirement.
- Published fee quotes conflict (US$850 vs US$900 standalone), so confirm with HFI before paying.
Who Issues the Credential and Which CXA This Is
The acronym "CXA" is shared by several unrelated credentials, so it pays to be precise before you plan anything. This article covers the Certified User Experience Analyst, issued and examined by Human Factors International (HFI) through HFI Training. If you are looking for the broader background first, start with What Is CXA? or What Does CXA Stand For?.
The One Hard Requirement: CUA Status
The central eligibility rule for the CXA is simple and non-negotiable: HFI's Help Center states that you must hold HFI Certified Usability Analyst (CUA) status before attempting the CXA. HFI's Analyst exam page repeats the same prerequisite, so the two official sources agree.
That makes the CXA a second-tier credential in HFI's ladder. You do not qualify by years of general design experience alone, and you cannot skip the CUA because you hold some other certification. If you do not yet have the CUA, your qualification path begins there, and the CXA comes afterward.
- Already a CUA: you meet the formal prerequisite and can move to scheduling and preparation.
- Not yet a CUA: earn the CUA first, then return to the CXA.
- Unsure whether your CUA status is current and on record: confirm with HFI before purchasing the exam.
What Is Not Required
Just as important as the prerequisite is what HFI does not demand. Based on the published materials, the following are not stated as conditions of eligibility:
- Taking HFI's CXA courses. The courses are optional. They can prepare you and, as the fee section shows, can change the price, but they are not a gate to sitting the exam.
- A specific degree. No degree requirement appears in the exam documentation.
- A published minimum number of years of experience. The documented hard requirement is CUA status, not a years-of-practice threshold.
- Renewal. The certification has no expiration, so there is no recertification cycle to qualify for after you pass.
Key Takeaway
Think of eligibility as a two-step check: do you hold CUA status, and have you registered for the exam? Everything else, including coursework, is optional preparation rather than a requirement.
Exam Format You Must Be Ready For
Qualifying to sit the exam is only useful if you understand what you are qualifying for. The CXA is an online exam of 100 multiple-choice questions, each with four response options. HFI describes it as testing both conceptual knowledge and practical application, so expect scenario-style items alongside definition-style ones. For a realistic read on difficulty, see How Hard Is the CXA Exam?.
| Element | What HFI Publishes |
|---|---|
| Question count | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Answer options | Four per question |
| Standard time limit | 2 hours 30 minutes |
| Time in India | 3 hours |
| Non-fluent English speakers | May request a total of 4 hours |
| Passing requirement | 70% overall |
| Results reporting | Each section's percentage plus the overall score |
| Resources allowed | HFI course materials and your own notes |
| Resources prohibited | Online resources and help from other people |
The 70% bar and its practical meaning are covered in CXA Passing Score 2026. One nuance for requirement planning: because notes and HFI course materials are permitted, a well-organized reference set is part of being "ready," not just a study aid.
Fees: What the Published Sources Say
Cost is part of qualifying, and this is the area where HFI's own documents disagree. Rather than pick a number and present it as settled, here is what each source says:
| Source | Standalone Exam | After All Four Courses |
|---|---|---|
| Current five-page Exam Fact Sheet | US$900 | US$450 (including two attempts) |
| HFI Help Center and Analyst exam page | US$850 | Not stated in the same way |
| Older two-page Exam Fact Sheet (undated) | US$850 | US$255 |
Separately, HFI's European Analyst course page lists US$5,850 for training plus the certification exam, with applicable taxes. Its "10 days / 80 hours" figure describes classroom instruction, not exam time. Because courses are optional, that bundle is one route, not a requirement. For a fuller breakdown, see CXA Certification Cost 2026.
Domain Readiness: What You Need to Know Going In
HFI publishes four competency areas with approximate percentages of total questions. Knowing them shapes how you judge your own readiness, because the weighting is lopsided: two domains together account for roughly 60% of the exam. A full walkthrough lives in CXA Exam Domains 2026.
Domain 1: Persuasion engineering (30%)
One of the two heaviest areas. Candidates should be comfortable with the underlying concepts of persuasion as applied to user experience, not only with usability mechanics.
- Core persuasion principles and how they shape user behavior
- Conceptual vocabulary that scenario questions will assume you know
Domain 2: Application of persuasion engineering techniques (20%)
The practical counterpart to Domain 1. Expect questions that ask you to apply techniques to realistic situations rather than recite definitions.
- Choosing and applying techniques in context
- Reasoning from a scenario to the most appropriate approach
Domain 3: Strategy and innovation (20%)
Covers the strategic layer of UX work, including how analysis connects to broader direction and new ideas.
- Linking UX work to strategy
- Innovation as part of the analyst's remit
Domain 4: Institutionalization of UX within organizations (30%)
Jointly the largest area. This is about embedding UX practice inside organizations, which often trips up candidates who have only worked on individual projects.
- Organizational adoption and maturity of UX practice
- Making UX a sustained capability rather than a one-off effort
HFI's detailed exam objectives are in the published CXA study outline, which supplies what the test covers rather than only a course curriculum. Reading it before you register is the cheapest readiness check available. The domain structure also matters for the job market; CXA Jobs explores how these skills show up in roles.
Delivery, Technology and Timing Rules
Eligibility also includes being able to sit the exam under HFI's conditions. According to the Help Center, delivery is online on your own computer, at home or at your workplace, with proctored classroom delivery in India.
- Secure application: the exam runs inside a secure application, so plan your device and environment in advance.
- 24-hour scheduling window: the exam can begin at any point within your scheduled 24-hour window.
- Timer cannot be paused: once you start, the clock runs.
- Sections are one-way: you cannot revisit a section after submitting it, though you can flag questions and review them within a section you have not yet submitted.
Key Takeaway
Because submitted sections are locked, treat each section as a checkpoint: use the flag-and-review feature fully before you submit, and do not plan on circling back later. Scheduling logistics are covered in CXA Exam Dates 2026.
A Qualification Plan Mapped to the Domains
If you are working toward qualification, sequence the work around the exam's weighting instead of studying everything evenly. This is the one place where a schedule is useful, and it is tied directly to the domains. For a deeper preparation plan, see the CXA Study Guide.
Confirm eligibility and scope
- Verify your CUA status is in good standing
- Read the CXA study outline end to end
- Request a written fee quote and confirm the credential name
Build the concepts: Domains 1 and 4
- These two carry roughly 60% of questions combined
- Organize your permitted notes by domain for quick lookup during the exam
Practice application: Domains 2 and 3
- Work scenario questions that ask you to apply techniques and strategy
- Use the official sample questions to see the style
Rehearse under exam conditions
- Run a timed set at 100 questions against the 2 hour 30 minute limit
- Check your technology against the secure-application requirement
HFI's official sample questions are publicly available, though the posted document carries a 2011 copyright, so use them for format and style rather than as a current question bank. To test yourself against a broader set, use the CXA practice tests on the main site.
After You Qualify: Results, Retakes and Validity
Understanding the back end of the process helps you decide how much risk to carry on exam day. Results show your percentage for each section plus the overall score, so a miss tells you where you were weak. If you do not pass, HFI describes an included second attempt within six months.
No current official overall pass rate was verified, so any specific pass-rate figure you see elsewhere should be treated with caution; see CXA Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for how to interpret what is and is not known. Once you pass, the certification does not expire, which means the requirement burden is front-loaded. If you are weighing whether the effort pays off, Is the CXA Certification Worth It? and the CXA Salary Guide discuss the return side.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. HFI's Help Center and its Analyst exam page both state that HFI Certified Usability Analyst (CUA) status is required before the CXA. There is no documented way around this prerequisite.
No. The courses are optional. They can prepare you and may affect pricing, but the documented eligibility requirement is CUA status, not course completion.
Published quotes conflict: US$850 standalone on the Help Center and Analyst exam page, US$900 on the current five-page fact sheet, with discounted figures listed for candidates who completed all four courses. No single verified uniform price exists, so request a written quote. See the cost breakdown for detail.
The passing requirement is 70% overall. If you are unsuccessful, HFI describes an included second attempt that must be used within six months.
No. The certification has no expiration, so there is no renewal requirement after you pass.