CXA logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CXA Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • HFI publishes conflicting CXA exam fees: US$900, US$850, and post-course discounts of US$450 or US$255 depending on the document.
  • The exam includes two attempts; the second must be used within six months of an unsuccessful first try.
  • HFI's European Analyst course page lists US$5,850 for training plus the exam, though CXA courses are optional.
  • HFI Certified Usability Analyst (CUA) status is required before you can sit the CXA exam.

Why the CXA Price Depends on Which HFI Page You Read

Anyone searching for the cost of the Certified User Experience Analyst credential quickly runs into a problem: Human Factors International (HFI), the issuer and exam administrator, has published more than one fee in more than one place. There is no single, verified, uniform current price that can be quoted with confidence. That is not a failure of research; it is the honest state of the published record, and this guide is built around it.

What we can do is lay out every published quotation, explain which document each comes from, and show you how to reason about your own total spend. If you are still deciding whether the credential suits your career, our ROI analysis of the CXA certification pairs well with this pricing breakdown, and our overview of what CXA certification is covers the basics.

Read this before you budget: The published figures below are conflicting quotations and offer descriptions, not cumulative charges. Do not add them together. Each one is HFI's description of a price or offer in a particular document, and they were published at different times without a single current price list reconciling them.

Side-by-Side: Every Published Fee Quotation

Here is what each HFI-linked source says about the examination fee. The five-page fact sheet is the currently linked document, while the two-page fact sheet is older and undated.

SourceStandalone exam feeAfter completing all four CXA courses
Currently linked five-page User Experience Analyst (CXA) Exam Fact SheetUS$900US$450 (includes two attempts)
HFI Help CenterUS$850Not stated as a post-course price; describes US$450 as a post-course reattempt charge
HFI Analyst exam pageUS$850Not stated
Older undated two-page CXA Exam Fact SheetUS$850US$255

The practical reading: the standalone exam has been quoted at either US$850 or US$900, and a reduced price has been quoted for people who completed all four CXA courses first (US$450 in the current fact sheet, US$255 in the older one). Because the current fact sheet is the most recently linked document, many candidates treat it as the best guide, but you should verify with HFI before you pay.

Which number should you plan around?

If you are taking the exam standalone, plan for the higher published figure (US$900) and treat US$850 as a possible saving. If you have completed all four courses, ask HFI explicitly which post-course price applies to you, since the older US$255 figure comes from a superseded document. Planning on the conservative number means any lower confirmed price becomes a pleasant surprise rather than a budget gap.

Retakes: Free Attempt vs. the US$450 Reattempt Language

This is the single most confusing part of the CXA fee structure, so it deserves its own section.

The exam passing requirement is 70% overall. If you do not reach it, the program includes a second attempt that can be used within six months. The current fact sheet describes its US$450 post-course price as covering two attempts. Yet the HFI Help Center also refers to US$450 as a post-course reattempt charge, while separately promising the free six-month retake.

Those descriptions do not obviously reconcile. Here is how to think about it:

  • The reliable part: an unsuccessful candidate may use an included second attempt within six months.
  • The unclear part: whether any additional charge applies to that second attempt, and in which circumstances US$450 is a registration price versus a reattempt fee.
  • The sensible action: before you book, ask HFI in writing whether your second attempt is free, and under what conditions.
Why the retake matters for your budget: Because the second attempt is described as included, a first-attempt failure is not necessarily a second full fee. But the six-month clock is real, and the timer on the exam itself cannot be paused. Use our guide on the CXA passing score to understand exactly how the 70% threshold and the section-by-section results work, so a first attempt informs a stronger second one.

The Optional Training Layer and Its Price Tag

HFI's own courses are optional for the CXA exam. You are not required to buy them to sit the test. But HFI does sell them, and they dominate the total cost if you choose that route.

HFI's European Analyst course page lists US$5,850 for training plus the certification examination, with applicable taxes. That page describes 10 days and 80 hours of instruction. Note carefully that these figures describe how long the training runs, not how long the exam takes. The exam itself is a single online sitting with a standard limit of 2 hours 30 minutes.

RouteWhat you pay forPublished cost signal
Exam onlyThe certification exam, two attempts includedUS$850 to US$900 standalone, per conflicting sources
Courses plus exam (European listing)HFI training bundled with the certification examinationUS$5,850 plus applicable taxes
Courses first, then exam at a reduced rateAll four CXA courses, then a discounted examExam price of US$450 (current fact sheet) or US$255 (older fact sheet); course fees separate

The difference between the cheapest and most expensive routes is large, which is why the optional status of the courses matters so much. A candidate with substantial hands-on experience and strong familiarity with persuasion engineering may reasonably choose the exam-only route. Someone newer to the field, or someone whose employer is paying for training, may value the structured courses. For help deciding how much preparation you need, see our CXA training overview and the CXA study guide.

The Hidden Line Item: CUA Status Comes First

The CXA exam requires HFI Certified Usability Analyst (CUA) status before you can sit it. This is stated in HFI's Help Center and explicitly on HFI's Analyst exam page. If you do not already hold CUA, the cost of earning it is part of your real path to CXA, even though it does not appear in any CXA fee quotation.

This catches people out. A candidate sees an exam fee in the high hundreds of dollars and assumes that is the whole bill, then discovers an entire prior credential sits in front of it. We do not quote CUA pricing here because it is outside the Certified User Experience Analyst fact base, and guessing would only add noise. What you should do is check HFI's current CUA fees separately and add them to your plan if you are not already certified.

Key Takeaway

Total cost of reaching CXA = (CUA cost, if you do not hold it) + (CXA exam fee, between roughly US$850 and US$900 standalone) + (optional courses, if you choose them). Read our CXA requirements guide to confirm your eligibility before spending anything.

What the Exam Fee Actually Buys

Understanding what the fee covers helps you judge whether it is good value and whether you are ready to use it well.

  • An online exam of 100 multiple-choice questions, each with four response options, testing both conceptual knowledge and practical application.
  • A generous time window: a standard limit of 2 hours 30 minutes, with India allowing 3 hours and candidates not fluent in English able to request a total of 4 hours.
  • Open-material format in a limited sense: you may consult HFI course materials and your own notes, but not online resources or other people's assistance.
  • Remote delivery: home or workplace delivery on your own computer, with proctored classroom delivery in India. A secure application is required.
  • Section-level feedback: results show each section's percentage along with the overall score.
  • A credential that does not expire: the certification has no expiration, so there are no renewal fees to fold into long-term cost.

That last point is worth pausing on. Many certifications carry recurring maintenance costs that change their true price over a career. Per the published facts, the Certified User Experience Analyst credential has no expiration, so the spend is front-loaded rather than recurring. Our CXA exam dates guide explains how scheduling works, including the 24-hour window in which an exam can begin.

The mechanics that protect your fee

Because you are paying real money per attempt (or at least risking a retake window), the exam's mechanics deserve respect. The timer cannot be paused. Submitted sections cannot be revisited, although you may flag questions and review them within an unsubmitted section. A secure application is required, so test your computer and connection well before the day. Treating these as logistics to rehearse, not surprises to discover, is the cheapest way to protect your investment. You can rehearse the format with a CXA practice test before committing your official attempt.

Building a Realistic Budget for Your Situation

Rather than a single number, think in scenarios. These are structural, not statistical; we are not inventing totals, only showing which components apply.

Scenario A: Experienced practitioner, already CUA-certified

Your budget is essentially the exam fee. Plan for the higher published figure, confirm the price and the retake terms with HFI, and invest your effort in preparation rather than coursework. Use the study guide and the official sample questions HFI publicly links (note these carry a 2011 copyright, so treat them as a format guide rather than a current content map).

Scenario B: Newer to the field, need CUA first

Add the cost of the CUA path to the exam fee. Because the CUA is required before CXA, build in time as well as money: you cannot skip ahead. Review the eligibility details before you commit.

Scenario C: Employer-funded full training

If your organization is paying, the US$5,850 European listing (training plus exam, with applicable taxes) is the figure to put in front of your manager, along with the caveat that courses are optional. A well-prepared candidate can make the case that exam-only is sufficient, which may free budget for other development.

Ask HFI these four questions before paying: What is the current exam fee for my situation? Is my second attempt free, and under what conditions? Does completing the four courses change my exam price, and to what figure? Are there taxes or regional fees on top? Getting written answers resolves the conflicts in the published documents.

Spending Study Time Where the Points Are

Since an unsuccessful first attempt consumes a retake window, it pays to allocate preparation by exam weighting. The four official competency areas and their approximate share of questions are below. For a deeper walkthrough, see our complete guide to all four CXA content areas.

Domain 1: Persuasion engineering (approximately 30%)

One of the two jointly largest areas. Expect both conceptual questions and applied scenarios.

  • The foundations that make persuasion engineering a discipline rather than a loose set of tactics
  • How concepts translate into practical decisions about user behavior

Domain 2: Application of persuasion engineering techniques (approximately 20%)

Moves from theory to execution.

  • Choosing and applying techniques to realistic design and business problems
  • Recognizing which technique fits which situation

Domain 3: Strategy and innovation (approximately 20%)

The strategic frame around UX work.

  • Connecting UX practice to organizational strategy
  • Innovation as a deliberate, managed activity

Domain 4: Institutionalization of UX within organizations (approximately 30%)

The other jointly largest area, and often underweighted by candidates with a purely design background.

  • Embedding UX practice so it survives beyond individual champions
  • Organizational change, governance, and maturity

Domains 1 and 4 together account for approximately 60% of the questions, so a candidate who is strong on both has a structural advantage even if the middle domains are weaker. Match your weak spots to the weights, not to your comfort. The detailed official objectives are in HFI's exam outline document rather than only in course curricula, which makes it the authoritative checklist.

A short, domain-aware study sequence

Week 1

Domain 1 foundations

  • Work through the persuasion engineering objectives from HFI's outline
  • Take a short diagnostic to find gaps
Week 2

Domain 4 institutionalization

  • Cover organizational embedding of UX, since it matches Domain 1 in weight
  • Add notes you can consult during the open-materials exam
Week 3

Domains 2 and 3

  • Practice applying techniques and connecting strategy to innovation
Week 4

Timed rehearsal

  • Complete a full 100-question run against the 2 hours 30 minutes limit
  • Rehearse flagging and reviewing within a section before submitting

Because candidates may consult HFI course materials and their own notes, well-organized personal notes are a genuine asset, but they do not replace understanding. With 100 questions in 2 hours 30 minutes, you have limited time to look things up for each item. For quick refreshers, our CXA cheat sheet condenses the must-know points, and our piece on how hard the CXA exam is helps calibrate expectations. For realistic practice under exam-like conditions, try the CXA Exam Prep practice tests.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the CXA exam cost?

HFI's published sources conflict. The currently linked five-page fact sheet quotes US$900 standalone, while the Help Center and Analyst exam page quote US$850. Both figures include the structure of two attempts. Confirm the exact current price with HFI before paying.

Is there a discount if I complete HFI's courses first?

The current fact sheet quotes US$450 after all four courses, including two attempts, while an older two-page fact sheet quoted US$255. The courses themselves are optional and are priced separately, so the discount only makes sense if you wanted the training anyway.

What happens if I fail the first attempt?

An unsuccessful candidate may use the included second attempt within six months. The Help Center also describes US$450 as a post-course reattempt charge, so ask HFI in writing whether any fee applies to your second attempt. See our pass rate article for what is and is not known about outcomes.

Do I need to buy HFI training to take the exam?

No. HFI's CXA courses are optional. However, HFI Certified Usability Analyst (CUA) status is required before you can sit the CXA exam, so make sure you qualify first.

Will I pay renewal fees to keep the credential?

The certification has no expiration, so no renewal cycle appears in the published facts. Your costs are concentrated up front. For earnings context, see our CXA salary guide.

Whatever route you choose, treat the published prices as a starting point for a direct conversation with HFI, not a final quote. Get the fee, the retake terms, and your prerequisite status confirmed in writing, then spend your remaining energy on the domains where the exam's weight sits.

Ready to pass your CXA exam?

Put this into practice with free CXA questions across every exam domain.